Campbell’s Covered Bridge
Constructed between 1909 and 1911 Campbell’s Covered Bridge is the only remaining covered bridge in the State of South Carolina, a state that once had 20 covered bridges. The 38 foot long, 12 foot wide pine structure that spans Beaverdam Creek was built by Charles Irwin Willis. The bridge is named for Alexander Lafayette Campbell who operated the grist mill just downstream of the bridge. Today the bridge and the surrounding 18.65 acre park is a serene location in northern Greenville County where visitors can picnic, explore the foundations of the old grist mill and home site, wet their feet on a hot summer day in Beaverdam Creek, hike the short 8/10th mile nature trail, and learn about the area through interpretive signage.